Stranger City, your wide roads
With unexpected turns
Gave glimpses –
A kaleidoscope of déja vu.

Your sunsets and long shadows,
Bathed in filtered rays
From orange curtains
Of forgotten days…
I look up, at towering skyscrapers
And dream of plunges and conversations
Doused in mirth and menace;
Will this crippling fear of vanishing hands
Not leave my side?

Stranger City, with your dazzle and
Flattery,
Like some new raiment mirrors crave
To reflect –
You will soon turn into rags and ashes
And haunt in-between my fingernails.

Do you know?
How in the middle of my heartbeats
I have tucked in memories
Like the sands of time;
And the waves are drawing them in.

Your fireflies and billboards
Are blurring the lines between
Myth and reality
Your foreign tongue makes noises
You call language
I try to hold on to strings
To make sense of.

Each minute, a recollection,
Strung on the threads
Of infinity.

Stranger city, I’m a stranger
In your roads and rendezvous and rainy skies.
I’m a stranger with a strange taste in my mouth
I cannot get rid of.

4 June 2017

Leave a Reply

